La Fabuloserie

 

The place

Alain Bourbonnais

Chief architect for civic buildings and national palaces, Alain Bourbonnais (1925 – 1988) won several public competitions between the end of the fifties and the beginning of the 1980. During all those years, he continued to paint and engrave, he started in 1970 devoting himself to Turbulents, and , collecting hors-les-normes art works.

In 1973, André Laude, the critic, commented upon Alain Bourbonnais’s poly-activity : ”For a long time now, Bourbonnais has been pretending, for a few hours a week , to be there, in the large rooms of his architect agency in rue Bonaparte in Paris. As solemn as a judge, he draws up plans, uses damned technical words, and listens to the songs of bulldozers. But every week-end, a few kilometers away, he gets back to his realm. There, in this Capernaum, this caravanserai, a glittering bric-a-brac reigns supreme. ”

Among the many facets of Alain Bourbonnais, the fuzziest one was that of the creator. It was essential, though. As a counterpoint to his hectic life as an architect, creating led him to collect the works of hors-les-normes artists. Progressively, collecting prevailed for him over being an architect.

 

Gallery

More Images

Exhibitions

 

Contact

La Fabuloserie

art brut ,musée,  musée art brut, Turbulents, art hors les normes, giovanni podesta

 

Le lieu

Alain Bourbonnais

Architecte en chef des bâtiments civils et palais nationaux, Alain Bourbonnais (1925 – 1988) remporte plusieurs concours publics entre la fin des années cinquante et le début des années 1980. En parallèle, il pratique la peinture et la gravure, et se consacre à partir de 1970 à ses Turbulents, au même moment, il amorce sa collection d’art hors-les-normes.

En 1973, le critique André Laude commentait ainsi la polyactivité d’Alain Bourbonnais : « Cela fait longtemps que Bourbonnais fait semblant, quelques heures par semaine d’être là, dans ses grands bureaux d’architecte rue Bonaparte à Paris. Sérieux comme un pape, il tire des plans, dit des mots vachement techniques, écoute le chant des pelleteuses et des bulldozers. Mais chaque week-end, à quelques kilomètres, il retrouve son royaume. Là, dans ce capharnaüm, dans ce caravansérail, règne un bric-à-brac étincelant. »

Parmi les nombreuses facettes d’Alain Bourbonnais, celle du créateur est la plus floue. Elle est pourtant essentielle. Contre-point de la vie trépidante d’Alain Bourbonnais-architecte, sa création l’amènera à rassembler les productions des auteurs de l’art hors-les-normes. Progressivement son activité de collectionneur prendra le pas sur son métier d’architecte.

 

La Galerie

Plus Images

Expositions

 

Contact